You could say something about an exchange and then people might turn up to talk about it.
I myself am waiting very, very patiently for soulmates. Ever so patiently. And in the hope that there will eventually be more things from fandoms I actually like. (There are 23 posted works, so there's still I think another 20-ish to go?)
You love to see it! Wonder if they're tempted to take their toys and go home again, or if they're at least smart enough to just email their fics to each other privately if they get impatient this time.
I feel sorry for the mod, though - that's a high proportion of frequent defaulters in one exchange.
Sure, sometimes you had assholes or "flamers" in your inbox, but I think I liked it more when people earnestly tried to give concrit to the best of their often limited ability than this "if you can't say something nice, say nothing at all" neurotic BS
Because back then, I felt like I could trust the positive feedback better. It's easier to believe someone genuinely likes the things they say they like when they also point out what they don't like, you know?
And it's no wonder that people (arguably) comment less now, and are sometimes downright neurotic or paralyzingly anxious about not commenting in the perfect way, because you can see how this attitude works out in places where commenting still IS part of expected etiqutte, like Yuletide. I'm pretty confident about my writing skills, but goddamn, seeing exchange recips leave gushing comments on their mediocre, deeply flawed, or even downright bad gift fic because they don't want to be rude can really give you trust issues.
I know I'd hate to get a comment like that. A few years ago I started clearly opting into concrit in my author notes but people don't actually take you up on it, and finding good betas who don't have a conflict of interest with you (otherwise known as "you write their rarepair") is often impossible in small fandoms.
(Muphry's Law states the above comment will have at least one egregious typo or SPAG error.... eh I'm not gonna stress about it)
Re: Anyone else really miss candid comment culture?
no. i don't want to know what a bunch of plebs think i could improve about my fic because they are always wrong, my shit is genius and their shit sucks.
I'm so glad this community exists, because the - how did the fanlore page quote put it - "cult of niceness" in the main communities started driving me up the wall almost immediately. I swear half the time the mods are looking for things to interpret in a negative light even when nothing negative was said and before the other person has even had a chance to clarify if they actually found that upsetting
My short list of DNM requests for Candyhearts was exclusively people I like where we mutually decided to DNM so we don't end up inevitably assigned to each other for our tiny shared fandoms and spoil the surprise part of it.
After looking at this comm, I'm having a very "oh you sweet summer child" reaction at myself.
I have another big PH to finish before I could even touch this but man we need to get TheFlirtMeister something. AFAIK both Chocobox and Yuletide have been duds for them. I love their writing and they seem pretty nice so I feel sorry for them.
Fandoms: Original Work, Knives Out (Movies), Watchmen (Comic), The Batman (Movie 2022), Jaws (Movies)
Their request is compatible with partial pinch-hits (so only writing 5k, not 10k).
Make gifts that, to the best of their knowledge, their recip will like. Doublecheck DNWs before posting gift. Comment during anon period at least 90% of the time, mentioning at least one thing specific to the work that they enjoyed. Manage signup quantity/real life so they don't default more than 25% of the time. Only post things that are reveal ready. Respond to mod emails if necessary. Be at least competent in medium of choice (decent spag for writers, art that doesn't make people flinch and say "oh no" on opening it). Change up their requests and/or prompts now and then. Only offer and request canons they have consumed. Take pinch hits as possible.
Page 2 of 13