I start by thinking about the themes, and how each character can be tied to the theme, and then I try to give each of them a question to answer, so the character arc of the story can be them answering or not answering it, and then I try to tie all this into a wider story, where their question drives them to drive the plot and vice versa, and then, with that outline complete, I try to divide it into acts and acts into scenes and scenes into moments that we get in to as late as possible and out of as fast as possible, to keep the pacing up, and then, about two days before the deadline, I panic like fuck, throw this all away, and hack out 3K words by the seat of my pants, which I then edit over and over between the deadline and the collection going live.
I’ve got a slice of life canon that’s a comedy and I love the original but I want a plot of some sort for this Yuletide fic and I’m coming up with nothing at the moment.
Anyone have some suggestions? At this point my brain is just like do a cosmic horror or something and while that would be hilarious it might be a bit much.
for those opting into it, how often have you got smut written for you in yuletide? if you give both smutty and non-smutty prompts, how often does your writer opt for the non-smut?
i'm always happy to receive smut and include smutty likes. but most exchange authors tend to err on the side of caution with g or t rated fic. i think unless it's a smut-focused exchange, there's always a risk in writing something smutty that might not land or even offend the recip.
There's no way Morbane & co. aren't aware of FakeCirilla9's deal, right? Like, they're definitely knowingly allowing someone like that to participate, huh?
The Chechnya nomination was in bad taste. There's no reason to suppose anything else is wrong. What kind of rule about participants do you think yuletide should have?
First time for me as an (initial) pinch hit. Surprised me a bit, because 2/3 of my requested fandoms had multiple offers. Now I'm just glad I'm not one of the lingering ones. Do you guys feel like you get a better or worse gift (on average) if you're a pinch hit? Or is there no real difference?
I got an assignment that only included character name(s) with no prompts or dnws. Which would be fine, some ppl are not picky. But there's also a link to a placeholder letter that says it will be finished by the assignment date but clearly hasn't been.
I know optional details are optional and only dnws in the assignment itself MUST be honored but I don't start planning something that turns out to hit a dnw. If you're gonna sign up and complete the letter later, at least say 'any of these characters are ok, no dnws' (or list dnws) in the signup so I can know if I'm supposed to interpret this as 'anything goes' or if you actually plan to fill specifications in.
Obviously too late for this person but...for future reference!
Totally fine with either trans-masc or non-binary, but with a slight preference towards agender.
This is an earnest question. I'm used to non-binary being an umbrella category that includes agender. Would it be correct to read this as "you can make explore this character as non-binary in a variety of ways; no obligation, but if you want to know which way I'd most prefer, it's agender"? Or do they mean non-binary in a different way?
If your recip's signup had like, one sentence for one fandom, then empty optional details for the rest, would you assume that they meant to put optional details for the other fandoms? There aren't even DNWs and I'm unclear on if they would want shipfic or not...
dread it… run from it… AI fic wank still arrives.
(even with how monolithically anti-AI the usual exchange crowd is - yuletide is more mainstream. even if there isn’t a blatantly AI-generated fic this year to wank about, i give it a month until someone in the discord mentions using AI to brainstorm or to reword a line in their fic or something and World War 3 begins)
I got a letter in my assignment but it appears to either not be working (or they have not put any information in their letter). Should I ask the mods to tell the recipient? Do I wait a week or two?
Re: How long to email mods about letter link not working
When I see people talking about offering freely vs only offering for requests with letters, I can't relate because all of my offers are for canons that have come up as lingering pinch hits over the years, and I slooooooowly consume them. I know what I'm getting. I'm getting a request someone has made the same way 5 times already where they are the only requester, ever.
I often offer only a limited number of characters, and I feel like that's extremely common but coal doesn't really talk about their character-offering strategies much. I tend to do it mostly to try to limit what parts of canon I might be asked to write - if A is the main character, C & D are the sidekicks in the first book and E & F are the sidekicks in the second book, I'll offer just C & D so there's not much chance I'll be matched on someone who wants something related to the second book, even if I'm happy to write basically anyone in book 1.
I don't know if it works though, I think the main thing it does is keep me from matching on those fandoms at all.
Page 1 of 14