I would normally pick up a queen’s thief pinch hit but they’re all Relius based and while I like Relius a lot, I don’t feel like I could write him well.
That lingering PH for a Queen's Thief can go to hell, honestly.
1) They already had a treat when they were on the PH list
2) Most of their gifts page is gifts from a Queen's Thief single-fandom exchange... and they haven't commented on around half of them!
Candyhearts is the exchange that taught me to check people's commenting histories before picking up PHs. Most of the time, being on the PH list doesn't mean anything... and sometimes it really does.
Because fandom is now full of subliterate zoomers who don't read books, just fanfic. At the most, they read BookTok slop in which all the characters talk like they're in a Joss Whedon production.
Okay, I finally have time to write some CH treats before author reveals, and look! Two people requested my rare otp!
... Except going by my email search neither has ever left logged-in kudos on my [OTP] fic, so I guess I'll just. Do something else today. 🫠
I mean it's their time, so if they only want to write treats for people in really specific, favorable situations, that is their right and privilege. The funny part is the doubling-down on how those requesters MUST have a totally different approach to fandom than they do and so there will be a mismatch! (Mismatch of what? Who knows.)
That thread pointed me to someone having the vapors in fandom venting about how they won't comment to authors who don't obediently lick the ass of everyone who comments. Boy people suck
Be careful, the monkey's paw will hear you, and deliver unto you a new show that somehow combines hockey and the high seas, and tips over from crack into somehow boring crack, and has a worse fandom.
People are more likely to look at art fandom-blind. So even niche art is a lot more likely to have at least 1-2 comments.
On the flip side, many exchanges have little enough art that complaining about anything art-related is pretty de-anoning. There have been times I wish I could say things like "Oh man, I worked for 50000 hours on this comic and the recip is a no-show" (slightly exaggerated example), but I just lie and pretend I posted fic instead if I'm going to vent about that.
I was trying to read more the Candyhearts collection today, and I hate to say it, but... there's just so much fic that isn't exactly bad but desperately needed another editing pass or two.
I'm sympathetic to the nonnies who are sad about having few comments, but sometimes it really is a sign that you need to step up your game a bit
I was trying to go through it and there just weren't more than three fandoms I cared about... I'm not going to read fandom blind unless it's someone whose fic I already know I get on with, so that means I just read almost nothing.
I’mhigh off my ass and i want to know what this means also why i can never see a screened comment but sometimes it takes hours for a thread to be frozzen
Re: is femra one person or does it just mean anybody who is modcalled
femra is one person, but the nature of anonymous memes, misidentification, and modcalls is that people will wildly guess that someone is FeMRA. Or the modcall can be interpreted as "I don't know if you're FeMRA or not, but I don't care. You're acting like FeMRA so I want you to GTFO."
I'll start: I would decide on one rare canon to consume in each of the months January-September, based on things people had prompted in the past that I might enjoy.
I have officially started my "things I want to nominate in Yuletide" folder for the year.
According to the app, this particular thing has not shown up as a request in YT for more than a decade, so I'm excited to throw it back in the ring in 2026.
Prolific toddlercon poster on AO3 gets forcibly outed as a pedophile who's attracted to real life children in general not just in fiction. Even though they've never acted on their attraction outside of fiction and are committed to not harming children, they get horrifically cancelled, ostracized, harassed, doxxed, stalked, threatened, etc.
IMPORTANT! — the narrative makes it extremely clear that the pedophile character is the protagonist and that all their suffering is completely unwarranted
+ they lose their livelihood, any irl family/friends, etc. ++ they end up getting arrested despite zero tangible evidence +++ they end up committing suicide ++++ the situation becomes so infamous that they become a notable person on Fanlore, Wikipedia, etc. +++++ the entire story is formatted as a break-the-fourth-wall fic within a fic using work skins to emulate the AO3/OTW UI
hey so uh what in the fuck is going on at rare kink buffet
> I can't edit anything until at least a few weeks after I've written it because it's just all mush to me (too familiar, I guess?) but often by the time I _can_ edit something, I've moved onto the next work, so the older one feels lower priority, so I rarely do too much intensive editing, but I also write fairly slowly and try to get each sentence right before I go to the next during my initial drafting
Don’t worry, it is extremely clear you never edit anything, excessively prolific EADer!
Page 2 of 2